Trial Design

What is the Role of the Trial Design Working Group?

The Trial Design Working Group is responsible for generation of the master protocol for a multi-arm, multi-stage trial for Parkinson’s disease. They are making decisions to ensure we have the best overall trial design. Such decisions include the eligibility criteria, the randomization process, the trial length, the number of participants we need, when we analyse the data and how we add and remove different treatments.

    Meet the Chairs

    Professor Roger Barker

    Prof. Barker is Professor of Clinical Neuroscience at the University of Cambridge and Consultant Neurologist at the Addenbrooke’s Hospital Cambridge.

    Prof. Barker’s primary research interests include the clinical aspects of Parkinson’s and Huntington’s disease This includes the study of disease heterogeneity using cognitive testing, functional imaging and genetic biomarkers, examining the value of different biomarkers to assess disease onset and progression and evaluating and developing novel therapies for these conditions.

    Prof. Barker co-leads our Trial Design Working Group in generating a master protocol for the first Multi-arm multi-stage trial assessing neuroprotective treatments for Parkinson’s Disease.

    Professor James Carpenter

    Prof. Carpenter is Professor of Medical Statistics at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine and Programme Leader in Methodology at the Medical Research Council (MRC) Clinical Trials Unit.

    Prof. Carpenter’s research interests include coping with missing data in clinical trials and complex hierarchical models, estimands and sensitivity analysis, meta-analysis and novel trial designs.

    Prof. Carpenter co-leads our Trial Design Working Group alongside Prof. Roger Barker.

    Members of this working group

    Tom Barber, Early Career Researcher University of Oxford
    Yoav Ben Shlomo University of Bristol
    Mark Edwards St George’s, University of London
    Camille Carroll University of Plymouth
    Tom Foltynie University College London
    Alan Whone University of Bristol
    Carl Counsell University of Aberdeen
    Caroline S. Clarke University College London
    Matthew Burnell Medical Research Council Clinical Trials Unit, London
    Sue Whipps PPI member, Cornwall
    Anna Jewell PPI member, Hampshire
    Dorothy Salathiel PPI member, Hertfordshire